Accreditation scheme

The International Society for the Advancement of Kinanthropometry.

Accreditation scheme

ISAK has trained more than 45,000 anthropometrists. There are associate members from 86 different countries. Membership to the Society is currently included in accreditation fees. All accreditation courses in kinanthropometry by the ISAK level 1, 2 and 3 are carried out with the highest quality standards. Although the courses may be slightly adapted to the characteristics of the students, they must follow the official anthropometric accreditation scheme of the ISAK. This helps ensure that the courses are standardized internationally and that all persons completing an ISAK accreditation course have the same level of knowledge and skills. For a course to be accredited by the ISAK, you must have the formal approval of the ISAK Accreditation Working Group (AWG) at least two months before the start of the course. For more information on the current regulations for the management of ISAK, manual and doubts about procedure and application forms contact us by email in For information on the ISAK accreditation scheme continue reading! 

Level 1 - Technician restricted profile anthropometrist

Level 1 is designed for the majority of ISAK-accredited anthropometrists who have little on-going requirement for more than the measurement of base measurements and skinfolds. A small number of girths and three bone breadths have also been included at this level to enable the monitoring of health and growth variables, and calculation of the somatotype and body composition - all of which ISAK sees as valuable tools for the comparison of body size, shape and composition. Thus, a person who successfully completes Level 1 can demonstrate adequate precision in 4 base measures, 8 skinfolds, 6 girths and 3 breadths and has a basic understanding of the theory of anthropometric applications.

Level 2 - Technician full profile anthropometrist

Level 2 is designed for those anthropometrists who wish to offer their subjects a more-comprehensive range of measurements. A Level 2 anthropometrist can demonstrate adequate precision in 4 base measurements, 8 skinfolds, 13 girths, 9 lengths and heights, 9 breadths and depths and has a broad understanding of the theory of anthropometry and its interpretation.

Level 3 - Instructor anthropometrist

Level 3 is designed only for those anthropometrists who wish to engage in the training and accreditation of Levels 1 and 2 anthropometrists. Its purpose is to increase the availability of training courses so that ISAK training can be offered to greater numbers of candidates worldwide. Like Level 2 anthropometrists, Level 3 practitioners can demonstrate adequate precision in all 43 anthropometric dimensions, but, in addition, have sufficient theoretical and practical knowledge of anthropometry to be able to instruct and accredit Level 1 and 2 anthropometrists.

Level 4 - Criterion anthropometrist

Level 4 is the most senior level. It recognises many years of experience in taking ISAK-approved measurements, a high level of theoretical knowledge, involvement in the teaching/examining of ISAK workshops or courses, involvement in large anthropometric research projects and a significant publication record in anthropometry. It is reserved for a relatively small group of internationally-recognised anthropometrists and carries with it the responsibility to train and examine Level 3 anthropometrists, as well as the right to train and examine the other two levels.


Every four years (as indicated by the ISAK certificates) it is necessary to re-establish itself. You can do your re-accreditation in any course of re-accreditation or accreditation of your level (go to 
 The accreditation expires as indicated in the ISAK certificate. For renewal of accreditation, ISAK requires verification of technique and accuracy by a practical examination measuring three subjects in the presence of an anthropometrist level 3 (Instructor) or level 4 (Criterion). Precision technical error of measurement values (TEM) should be achieved. The ISAK also requires the successful completion of the restricted anthropometric profile for level 1 and the full profile for levels 2, 3 and 4 in 20 subjects and the presentation of these measures in the required format to the anthropometrist level 3 or 4 that led to The practical examination of reaccreditation. Re-accreditation is valid for 4 years from the date of completion of all accreditation renewal requirements.